This article is about the film series and media franchise. For the original 1977 film, see Star Wars (film). For other uses, see Star Wars (disambiguation).
Star Wars
Star Wars Logo.svg
The Star Wars logo as seen in all films.
Creator George Lucas
Original work Star Wars (1977)
Print publications
Novels List of novels
Comics List of comics
Films and television

Original trilogy

IV – A New Hope (1977)
V – The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
VI – Return of the Jedi (1983)

Prequel trilogy

I – The Phantom Menace (1999)
II – Attack of the Clones (2002)
III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)

Sequel trilogy

VII – The Force Awakens (2015)
VIII (2017)
IX (2019)


Rogue One (2016)
Untitled Han Solo Anthology film (2018)[1] Untitled Anthology film (2020)[1]


The Clone Wars (2008)

Television series

The Clone Wars (2008–14)
Rebels (2014–present)


Spark of Rebellion (2014)
The Siege of Lothal (2015)


Droids (1985–86)
Ewoks (1985–86)
Clone Wars (2003–2005)

Legends specials

Star Wars Holiday Special (1978)
Caravan of Courage (1984)
The Battle for Endor (1985)

Video games List of video games
Radio programs Star Wars
Original music Music of Star Wars

Action figures
Die-casts and model toys
Chess and soldiers

Theme parks

Star Tours
Jedi Training: Trials of the Temple
Star Tours–The Adventures Continue
Star Wars Land

Star Wars is an American epic space opera franchise, centered on a film series created by George Lucas. It depicts the adventures of various characters “a long time ago in a galaxy far, far away”.

The first film in the series, Star Wars (subtitled Episode IV: A New Hope in 1981[2][3][4]), was released on May 25, 1977 by 20th Century Fox and became a worldwide pop culture phenomenon. It was followed by the similarly successful sequels The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and Return of the Jedi (1983); these three films constitute the original Star Wars trilogy. A prequel trilogy was later released between 1999 and 2005, which received a more mixed reaction from critics and fans in comparison to the original trilogy. All six films were nominated for or won Academy Awards, and were commercial successes, with a combined box office revenue of $4.38 billion,[5] making Star Wars the fourth highest-grossing film series.[6] The series has spawned an extensive media franchise—the Star Wars expanded universe—including books, television series, computer and video games, and comic books, resulting in significant development of the series’s fictional universe. Star Wars also holds a Guinness World Records title for the “Most successful film merchandising franchise.” In 2012, the total value of the Star Wars franchise was estimated at USD $30.7 billion, including box-office receipts as well as profits from their video games and DVD sales.[7]

In 2012, The Walt Disney Company acquired Lucasfilm for $4.06 billion and announced three new Star Wars films; the first film of that trilogy, Star Wars: The Force Awakens, was released on December 18, 2015.[8] 20th Century Fox retains the physical distribution rights to the first two Star Wars trilogies, owning permanent rights for the original 1977 film and holding the rights to Episodes I–III, V and VI until May 2020.[9][10] Walt Disney Studios owns digital distribution rights to all the Star Wars films, excluding A New Hope.[10][11]

More details: