ROGUE ONE: A STAR WARS STORY Official Teaser Trailer

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, or simply Rogue One, is an upcoming American epic space opera war[1] film directed by Gareth Edwards and written by Gary Whitta and Chris Weitz, from an idea by visual effects supervisor John Knoll. It will be the first Star Wars Anthology film, a stand-alone story set in the Star Wars universe, and will star Felicity Jones, Diego Luna, Riz Ahmed, Ben Mendelsohn, Donnie Yen, Jiang Wen, Forest Whitaker, Mads Mikkelsen and Alan Tudyk. Set shortly before the events of A New Hope, the story will center on a group of Rebel spies on a mission to steal the plans for the Galactic Empire’s new weapon, the Death Star.

The film is produced by Lucasfilm and will be distributed by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. Principal photography began at Elstree Studios, near London during early August 2015. Rogue One will be released on December 16, 2016.
Teaser poster
Directed by Gareth Edwards
Produced by
Kathleen Kennedy
Tony To
Screenplay by Chris Weitz
Story by
Gary Whitta
John Knoll
Based on Characters created
by George Lucas
Felicity Jones
Diego Luna
Riz Ahmed
Ben Mendelsohn
Donnie Yen
Jiang Wen
Forest Whitaker
Mads Mikkelsen
Alan Tudyk
Jonathan Aris
Music by Alexandre Desplat
Cinematography Greig Fraser
Lucasfilm Ltd.
Distributed by Walt Disney Studios
Motion Pictures
Release dates
December 16, 2016
Country United States
Language English
Felicity Jones as Jyn Erso,[5] a Rebel outsider
Diego Luna as a Rebel soldier[6] Riz Ahmed as Bodhi Rook,[7] a Rebel rookie
Ben Mendelsohn as an Imperial admiral[8] Donnie Yen as a Rebel warrior
Jiang Wen as a Rebel heavy
Forest Whitaker as “Rogue”, a Clone Wars veteran
Mads Mikkelsen as an unnamed villain
Alan Tudyk in a motion capture role as a Rebel-owned Imperial enforcer droid[9][10] Jonathan Aris as Senator Jebel[11] Genevieve O’Reilly reprises her role of Mon Mothma,[12] Alistair Petrie appears as a Rebel general[6] and Eunice Olumide appears in the film.[13]

In February 2013, The Walt Disney Company CEO Bob Iger confirmed the development of two stand-alone films, each individually written by Lawrence Kasdan and Simon Kinberg.[14] On February 6, Entertainment Weekly reported that Lucasfilm is working on two films featuring Han Solo and Boba Fett.[15] Disney CFO Jay Rasulo has described the stand-alone films as origin stories.[16] Kathleen Kennedy explained that the stand-alone films will not crossover with the films of the sequel trilogy, stating,

George [Lucas] was so clear as to how that works. The canon that he created was the Star Wars saga. Right now, Episode VII falls within that canon. The spin-off movies, or we may come up with some other way to call those films, they exist within that vast universe that he created. There is no attempt being made to carry characters (from the stand-alone films) in and out of the saga episodes. Consequently, from the creative standpoint, it’s a roadmap that George made pretty clear.